A MAN, A PLAN, A CANAL: PANAMA

Okay, so my title doesn’t exactly fit – female, never been to panama, not so much a canal as a little creek out back. But it has the word “plan” in it, and as soon as I devised a plan, the palindrome just popped into my head. A relic from 6th grade English, suddenly set free.

Wednesday my check in post was riddled with bad luck lines. March came roaring in and for a while there I thought it was going to swallow me whole. Then I busted out the whip. I didn’t tame everything that was coming at me, but I did smack down some of the bigger stuff. And even more importantly – I have a plan.

Or at least the start of a plan. I’ll be fleshing it out and working with the logistics of it over the next week or two, and I’ll either be pulling out of RoW next round, or drastically changing the way I work with my goals.

But before that cart takes off ahead of the horse, I’ll reel myself back in and take care of the current goals.

Goal #1 – 3 Blogs up – one on boredom, one passing along the Liebster award and one in which I explain the Girl Brain V. Boy Brain reason blogging is my only secret from my husband.

Goal #2 – Social Media – I think I’ve finally managed to unlink Twitter and FB – I don’t like the idea of bombarding the same stuff over and over through all outlets, and that had been bugging me for a while. I also have gotten familiar enough with Pinterest to start a Blogs I Love board – not primarily for pimping myself, but I am pimping those blogs that love. I’m still not in love with the idea of social media, but it makes more sense to fight through it now, than at the point when I’d be pushing toward a platform. I’m, ahh, pretty sure I have some time there.

Goal #3 – Childrens WIP – nothing. But this is part of my future plan.

Goal #4 – Blog reading and commenting – successful – having recently read a number of posts on blog commenting, I am making a concerted effort to comment when I do stop by. Not doing it every time, but much more often than I used to. It’s hard for the girl who always sat in the back of the class to speak up, but I’m trying, and I’m getting better.

Goal #5 – Edits. This one is a teensy bit stuck, as all my words are locked up in a computer that won’t power on. But I have solved the problem, and the new power cord has been ordered. And once I get it, I’ll have to catch up on a week’s worth of work documentation before I’m allowed to look at the WIP. BUT – not having access to anything on there has given me time to crank out my reading of the hard copy version so I have the full story fresh in my brain as I go, so I’m still getting my time in, making progress in some fashion.

Goal #6 – Short-term – Blog award passed along, edit buddy found for when I DO have access to my work.

This weeks short-term: I was awarded me the Versatile Blogger Award by mrsbongle, so I need to pass that along and it’s time to get my tax stuff finalized for my accountant.

Goal #7 – Reading for the Bookmark Break Challenge – Still reading The Scarpetta Factor and just picked up Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom by Cory Doctorow for my next read.

Goal #8 – Sidebar updates – half done. Stuck a Goodreads widget in the sidebar and got stuck trying to figure out why it isn’t recognizing me. It’s just a white square. I’ll keep playing with this today.

Linky

 

 

6 responses to “A MAN, A PLAN, A CANAL: PANAMA

  1. It’s always good to have a plan, even if you sometimes have to change it.

    I have the same problem with commenting on blogs, but I am making an effort.

    Good luck on your goals this week.

  2. Glad you have a plan – can’t wait to see it because your current plan is pretty awesome. By the way, it took me months to start commenting on blogs and even now I rarely get time to comment on more than a few each week. Sometimes it’s enough to just say “Great post” or click the Like button (if the blog has one). Something that lets the blogger know they aren’t speaking to themselves.

    I’m with you on keeping your social media untangled. It is easy to overload on that end.

    Have a great week 🙂

  3. It’s also good to have a plan. But it’s also good to allow yourself to change the plan if you have to.

    I hope you don’t have to pull out of ROW80. This challenge has always been so helpful to me.

  4. So you did manage to break the tie between Facebook and Twitter?!? I remain hopeful, then. Have just returned to Twitter and still wondering why. I may turn to stone next.

    Like you, I’m ready to launch a new plan, probably will keep ROW80 for another round, if my current manuscript begins to mean something to me.

    Like your title, anyway.
    Karen

  5. I totally understand how difficult it can be…I’ve been swallowed whole for quite a few rounds of ROW80. What has helped me keep it up is doing just what you said–drastically altering my goals and giving laser focus to just one or two things, and breaking those goals down into uber-achievable bite-size pieces every week. I make progress, I feel accomplished, and I don’t get bogged down in panic when I can’t get everything done. I hope you can figure out what will work best for you and keep joining us for ROW80. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

