Checking In and Modifying Some Goals

Here’s a quick question – anyone out there using Dragon Naturally speaking? Anyone that’s using Scrivener know if it is compatible with Dragon? My fingers just can’t keep up with my brain and I’m seeking an alternative.

 

Goal #1 – Only did two of my 3 posts this week – one about my crazy and possibly creepy neighbors, and one about writer-me, and the importance of words. That one kind of needed to be written upon learning that the individual who had the greatest impact on me and my writing passed away a couple of weeks ago.

Goal #2 – I am scrapping this one for now. I think I have something wonky going on with my google account, so I’m going to table this for now and bring it out again later, either as a short-term goal or in a future RoW engagement.

Goal #3 – Social Media – I’m at about 60% of my stated goal here. I’ve been in a foul mood and am trying to refrain

Goal #4 – Children’s WIPs. Nothing. Again. For some reason I seem to gravitate toward these more in the summer.  Now that I think about it, ALL my media habits seem to be seasonal – paranormals and crime novels in the fall & winter, romance and chick lit in the summer. Comedy movies in the summer, horror in the winter. Music  is the same way. Hmmm…discovering this could turn to my advantage. Tuck that aside to work with later.

Goal #5 – Catching up on my blog reading and added a few more to my follow list. Trying to comment more regularly, and I’ve definitely improved, but still just lurking on a number of them.

Goal #6 – Edits. Whoa! First, this one is being modified – no longer giving myself a page marker on this – going with a time marker instead – 4 hours a week. Which I knocked out of the park this week. Getting characters and some of the pages I’d revised into Scrivener, trying to figure out whether or not I like it, got a LOT of my read through done last night.

And I need a partner. After looking at the words, crossing them out, writing new ones in, over and over and suddenly I find myself in that position where you’ve said the same word so many times that it no longer has any meaning. I need a reader. I think later this week I’ll look into that.

Goal #7 – Short term this week: all holes on the first floor are patched and awaiting paint, upstairs will be done today. Win!

This Weeks #7: Two unrelated parts – I was given a blog award that I need to pass along, so I’m going to get that done. I’m also going to look into a reader/partner for my revisions. I need input from someone  – perhaps putting together a password page on here?? Not sure but I definitely need some input.

Goal #8 – Restarting The Scarpetta Factor. My first stab was in the ER waiting room and none of it stuck.

Goal #9 – sidebar updated.

Linky

 

6 responses to “Checking In and Modifying Some Goals

  1. Hey! I’m a seasonal reader/writer, too!

    it seems like you have a good handle on what you can and can’t accomplish, at the moment. That’s always useful!

    Best of luck for you this week and always!

  2. Interesting about your seasonal writing, definitely something to pay attention to that could help to focus working habits and production. Good idea to relax on the social media front if you aren’t in the best of moods, we all have those stages and your choice is wise.

    Good goal adjustments – flexibility is often the key to success. Have a great coming week 🙂

  3. I have heard Dragon and Scrivener work together but it was like 3rd or 4th person so I’m not sure how much faith to put into it. Definitely report back. I use Scrivener and would love to get Dragon.

    Great job with your goals and the adjustments! How interesting that the seasons reflect in your writing and reading. Definitely something to explore and use to its full advantage. Best of luck with the upcoming week.

  4. I’m definitely all about editing time markers. Inevitably I set a page goal and hit a paragraph that stumps me for an hour. I figure time is a better measure, since Lord knows my editing clients wouldn’t want to pay me by the hour instead. 😉

    Sounds like you are a good judge of your own progress, and that’s a gift!

Leave a Reply

