What Scapegoats? I Have Pack Goats.

This has been a nutty week. In the last three days alone, I’ve wrangled with the attorney about my the suit related to my Dad’s death. That seemed harsher than usual because we’re nearing the year marker, and she didn’t call with positive news. My grandfather is in the hospital, my paycheck is being held hostage by the U.S. Postal Service somewhere near Omaha,ย  and some of the family is launching a campaign to get my husband to quit his job so we can bring my mom from the nursing home into our house for care. And I guess my life wasn’t absurd enough, so I also had a total stranger accost me in a parking lot, critiquing my mothering skills.

But. . .I’ve turned my scapegoats into pack mules.

These are not really my pack goats. They belong to the people at sierrapackgoats.blogspot.com

They’re out in the yard, sniffing through the grass, wearing leather packs of stress and distraction that I will address later. One by one, when I can.

There is a small fear that the herd will turn on me, charging through the door and taking me down in retaliation of carrying so much weight, but that’s a concern I’ll address if I hear them tripping up the stairs. I’ll go give them peanut butter sandwiches later, to keep them happy.

Do goats like peanut butter sandwiches?

Yes, they do. I’ll tell you a story about that, sometime.

Goal # 1 – Done done done! Got my 10 x 10 on writing exercises done earlier this week, and one post on the general Rant Rave Write page as well. And yesterday I finished my blog goals by recapping that event in the parking lot during which my edit button failed again. But I’m pretty sure I won, so that’s good, right?

Goal#2 – Haven’t done much with the domain information search. I think I may hit up someone who’s done it before and see what their thoughts are.

Goal # 3 – I think I found my favorite of all the social media platforms. Pinterest. It’s a bit alien and I’m still feeling my way around, but Hunter was right – this place can definitely be used by writers to do good things. I’m kind of feeling my way around and creating all kinds of pinboards, most of which aren’t for writing, but it’s a great place to keep track of books and brainstorming ideas. And story boarding. I love the idea of using the pinboard as a storyboard tool. It’s not a socially driving force like Twitter or Facebook, but it does let people get to see who you are and what you’re about. I’ve seen a lot of posts about this concept recently.

Goal #4 – I opened two of the kids’ WIPs. I’m thinking about rhyme schemes. I win.

Goal #5 – I don’t think I hit 10 comments posted in both RoW and non- RoW blogs, but I came close. I definitely read more than the stated goal of 10 of each. For some reason I have a really hard time commenting on Blogger – sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Grrr.

Goal #6 – Edits. Fail.

Goal #7 – Weekly short terms – this week it was two –ย  the Versatile Blogger award pass along – I started this, but haven’t finished my list of blogs to pass it along to. That part is hard. The other one was 30 min rearranging my office. I literally picked up one thing and took it up to the attic, realized that a lot of what I needed to clean out belonged up there and that it, too, was a disaster. So I spent 2 hours cleaning it. And I probably need to spend 3 or 4 more. But since I think it makes more sense to clean that first, then unload the random furniture from my office, I’m calling this a win.

This weeks #7 – finish the award pass along. Go through the receipts I’ll need organized for my tax lady. This year I will not procrastinate until two days before the appointment.

Goal #8 – Almost done with Discovery of Witches, picked my next read – A Reliable Wife. Progress. Yay!

Goal # 9 – All progress bars updated. Another at 100%.

I’m off to make peanut butter sandwiches for my goats, to show them how much I appreciate them carrying their loads.

Here’s your Linky.

4 responses to “What Scapegoats? I Have Pack Goats.

  1. not bad week like the idea of the goats I’m sure they’ll appreciate the peanut butter what’s not to like:) – some periods of time we just need a pack of goats – I do hope tou can retire them soon – keep smiling and all the best for this week

  2. Sounds like you got a lot done, even if the goats packed a lot of it away! I have problems with Blogger blogs, too, especially if I’m on my Android phone. Even though they’re both Google products, they don’t always play together nicely. Good luck with your goals this week!

  3. Can’t wait to try Pinterest. As if I need a new social media platform–but it seems VERY COOL!

    I CANNOT stand people who think they are allowed to criticize strangers in public–especially about parenting. Had I been there, I might have slapped that person for you (or at least imagined slapping them). THE NERVE. Seriously.

    I actually blogged last week about a friend who continually criticized me through the advice she would give me.

    We should start a #DontJudgeMe club. Because, seriously, nobody has the right. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I hope that your real life calms down so you can feel more in control of things. Even so, you did a smashing job of accomplishing your goals last week! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

