Back From Oz and Checking In

I am so happy this check in, even though my accomplishments are hit or miss. I am back on the ground, and I get to stay here for foreseeable future. I hate leaving my family, and spend a lot of time while I’m away wishing for a pair of ruby slippers. And of course, the trip, like pretty much everything else I manage to get connected to, had moments of you’ve-got-to-be-kidding-me. To give you an idea of all the fun things I have to write about later here’s a hint: Madagascar Hissing Cockroach.

I did not see that coming. Nor did I anticipate the lesson in animal scat. Or the tiger penis.

So, for today I am grateful to be in an environment where I don’t have to hear “Sorry about this turbulence, folks,” there is nothing alien crawling on me, and I’m not having to handle the unmentionables of wild animals. (Have I ever mentioned how much I hate the phrase ‘team building’?)

At least the weekend was fodder for about a dozen different posts. But onto the goals. Just before I left, I got sucked into a brand new goal, so I have some modification to do this week.

Goal # 1 – Still 1 for 3 on the blog posts.  This failure is not completely my fault. I’d planned to use some of the air time to write, and of course first my laptop hated me (do you know what BIOS adjustments are? Me neither, but I made a bunch. I really shouldn’t be allowed to touch computers) Then the Wi-Fi on the plane hated me. This one was out of reach.

Goal #2 – Still nothing here either. Same reasons as the first one. I at least want to figure out how to run email through this domain.

Goal #3 – No social media to speak of either. Hmmm. I’m seeing a trend here. Apparently I rely on computers.

Goal #4 – I’ll just go ahead and blame my failure on opening a kid’s WIP on the above too. Pretty sure I wouldn’t have done this, even if I’d been home, though. WHAT is my problem with this???

Goal #5 – I think this read/ comment goal for ROWers was met, only about halfway on non-ROW participant reads and comments.

Goal #6 – Nope. The printed version of the WIP I need to edit weighs about 30 pounds, and I have to do edit reads in print or I can’t make it happen. We’ll just not mention how I could have brought 20 pages or so in a folder, as that brilliant solution didn’t occur to me until right this minute. Yay, problem solving skills!!

Goal #7 – These are my short-term, weekly goals. This week it was in 3 parts, and I met all three. Packing done without waiting ’til last minute, paperwork from tomorrow all ready, and not once did I say aloud, “There’s. . . something. . . on the wing!”  That was SO hard.

And this week’s short-term #7  is to pass along the Versatile Blogger award I was gifted with last week. I also need to spend a minimum of 30 minutes trying to reel in the disaster that is my office.

And I’m also adding 2  new goals this week.

Goal #8 – I signed on to a reading challenge – The Bookmark Break Challenge
so I have to make headway there – my goal is 200 books this year, so I have to read a LOT.

Goal #9 – I now have a new widget in my sidebar of RantRaveWrite that needs to be updated with the books I’m reading for the challenge, plus I have two progress bars for two of my WIPs. Goal #9 is to actually update all three of these by Sunday of every week.

Here’s the Linky.

 

 

 

8 responses to “Back From Oz and Checking In

  1. Wow – that’s a lotta goals…. Don’t fret.. unforeseeable stuff happens. We have no control over these things. All we can really do is just go with the flow.

    As far as your editing style… I am the same way. I have to edit with a pen on the physical manuscript. Editing on a computer screen is a waste of time for me.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Quite a few goals here, and some of them are quite interesting. Would love to visit Oz at some point in my life, as it does look like a lovely warm place to visit.

    There never seems to be enough hours in the day when it comes to hitting your goals…

  3. Wow! Good luck with all those goals! All computers seem to hate me, and I hate them, especially printers that invariably chew up my manuscript/story/poem that I’m trying to print off to send out. Unlike Darlene, I do prefer to edit on the screen because it just makes it easier to delete stuff and stick other bits in. Different strokes for different folks!

  4. You have quite a list of goals. I would get lost with that many. Of course, I tend to be easily distracted. I do my final edits on paper. The first couple of rounds I can do on screen, but for the nitty-gritty, out comes the paper and colored pens! Good luck in the coming week.

  5. If it were me, making the flight without panicking would probably have been all I could have managed.

    Madagascar hissing cockroaches are fun. I only like things climbing on me when i have invited them, though!

    We once hit an alligator with a canoe, but I have never touched a tiger penis. I’m guessing that puts you in a rather – elite – group, no? =D

    It sounds like you lived richly….always good for the writing, eventually,. I find, though, that i often can’t focus my thoughts on writing anything in the midst of the richly divergent times in my life.

    After, though…..sooner or later, it all comes pouring out –

    I predict big progress for you, and soon!

    See you on Wednesday!

  6. machines eh! i do initial editing spell, parts of speech etc on screen cos its easy to delete and move stuff – a beg of rearranging pages that kind of thing but to see if it reads ‘right’ it has to be the printed page for me.

    I joined to many reading challenges this year so am not going to be tempted by another – well I was when I read it but I strong mindly put it behind me!!! I am doing a TBR one already and really I dont have many started but bookedmarked once I start I just keep going

    all the best for next week

  7. I think I would have had the same problem meeting my goals had I been in your position – technology reliance is far too vital to achieving 90% of my goals! cripes, I hope to heck that my computer never dies – I think I would die right along with it very quickly! :S

Leave a Reply

