Finish Line Falls

I always stumble at the finish line.

At home, I leave a trail of unfinished business behind me, breadcrumbs that never quite manage to lead me back to the beginning.

In writing, that final culmination of events and tying off of knots often finds me struggling against looking too far ahead, to my next project. Or the other direction – back at the beginning, is everyone accounted for? I’m not sure I like where this person ended up. Where did tat person even go?

These are things for the edit process, the revisions that should come next.

But those edits and revisions are another kind of finish line. If I had to guess, I’d wager I have more than 400,000 written words. A couple of complete first drafts in a series I literally spent months creating a mythological structure to work within. Another nearly complete work in a much more literary vein. And so, so many more words hanging, waiting on me to come back and clean them up, to polish and shine and prepare them to be taken out of the closet.

This is just a facet of me that I acknowledge and accept but do not like.

And it seems it has rolled right on over to the ROW. I was doing fairly well. Some days making great strides, others not so great, but I was always moving forward and almost always made check in. I think I missed one in the first 60 days.

Then, last Wednesday, I saw the finish line.

I wrote up my Check In, and forgot to post it. I did however, remember to add myself to the Linky and to Facebook.  Have no idea what you all ended up reading. I never went back to solve that little mystery.

Then Sunday, missed Check In altogether. Not like I had much to report, but still. . .

And today, I’m ready, but we don’t end till tomorrow. Of course, it’s easy to be done today. I haven’t actually done anything. No piano, no reading, no work on Mother of the Year.

(After this was originally posted, I did get one of those up – Holly Jolly, My %#$, Oh Wait. . . in which my Grinchy self is taught a lesson by a four-year-old, so I threw that on here when I came back to add the Linky. Technically it was before the deadline, so it counts, right?)

I did get one more 10 x10 up – inspired by me cleaning out my Writing favorites folder – I honed in on 10 of my favorite websites for writing.

So not only did I stumble at the end, I seem to have fallen down on an UP escalator. The momentum of the ROW machine is till climbing to the top, but I’m kind of rolling around in a silly, flailing ball on the third step down.

So. Eventually, I’ll see you at the top!

Came back in and edited to add the Linky.

9 responses to “Finish Line Falls

  1. Congrats on your progress! Sometimes it takes a year or so in challenges to really get up to speed.

    I spent all of 2010 doing other challenges, including NaNoWriMo, so this year felt like a real “coming together” of projects.

    Hang in there!

  2. I have to agree–massively entertaining posts should count for something in your ROW escalator!

    Not to make your metaphor more complicated than it already is–but is this ROW escalator similar to getting on an elevator from an underground parking garage that you think will take you to the street-level shops… but instead you find yourself five stories up in a back-entrance to a large chain store. Packages everywhere, and pert posters on workplace safety. And you think, “who puts Shipping/Receiving off of a public elevator?” But the thought doesn’t take, because you have been spotted by a woman in an authoritative suit, now angrily waving you to head back down into the trenches?

    If it is, I hope you can climb your way out of it soon. No one wants to be waved at angrily by an authoritatively-suited business-person.

  3. Sometimes the finish line just needs to be crossed knowing your race was good overall. This time of year is a tough one to sprint to the finish.

    Looking forward to seeing you in 2012. I know I need to come out of the gate running hard and kicking some word count butt. Please join me. Pace, don’t race, right?

    Wishing you the best of the holiday season and many blessings in 2012!

  4. As long as you’re not wearing stilettos, Jellys, Crocs, or flip-flops, and any laces are tied, I think you’ll be OK on the escalator. And escalators are easier then stairs. 🙂 Best of luck with your polishing, shining, and showing, and happy new year!

  5. LOL on falling UP the escalator – better up than down! I’m there with you, too. I gave up on midweek check-ins (they just don’t work for me), THEN forgot to post my wrapup yesterday. So it’s up now LOL. All you can do is get up and keep on riding that escalator to the top! Congrats on accomplishing what you did, and see you next year in 2012 Round 1!

Leave a Reply

