Slaying the Edit Monster and Getting Lost in the Kitchen

Whine. . .

It’s earrrrrly. I’m not a morning person on the best of days, but my little is sick and I was upstairs all night rubbing back, wiping nose and singing back to sleep while my husband conked out on the couch downstairs. At 4:00 he came up to relieve me, and I came down to sleep.

Yes, of course I know this image is licensed to Warner Brothers

10 minutes later, those sick little feet came tromping down the stairs, arms straight down, scowl set firmly in place like an angry Daffy Duck . “Mama, I’m up. I wanna sit with you.”

So I’m up, deflecting the 10 million will that Humpty get hurts, wanting to strangle the dog for pacing back and forth and my husband for not being Mama.

I may as well be productive, or try to be, with the jello brain I am currently working with.

But even though I’m working at the mental capacity of an amoeba, at least there are some words back up there again. My last check in saw me at a disorienting, panic inducing lack of words over all. For a couple of days I did nothing with words at all because there was nothing up there to work with. This is something that stunned me. So I took last Sunday off and just putzed around the house making ornaments and cooking and trying not to think about it.

And of course what happens when you try not to think about something? You think about not thinking about it which is thinking about it.

But I think while I was painting the ornaments and playing with power tools, I figured out what the problem was.  It’s the Edit Monster. And I was so excited by this epiphany that I wrote about it. Words! Relief! I’m not broken!

This happy dance even captures my recent atrocious haircut!

Ironically enough, that post got a bunch of non-subscriber hits and I picked up a few new subscribers out of it. If nothing else, the world continues to mock me.

Aside from that post, I also got a Random Rant up, and I haven’t posted one of those in a while. But I was overwhelmed by a bizarre affliction I suffer from and ended up writing about that. I call it  Location Induced Attention Deficit Disorder .

All this means I didn’t make any progress at all in my WIP goals.  I did do my reading and commenting and exceeded that mark, and I got some piano time in with Quinn. And I at least opened my page at query tracker with the intent to nudge on a query, but that LIADD thing took me off in another direction – it not only applies to physical location, but cyberspace as well. But I at least  thought about it, which is more than I’ve done for most of this round.  That one is my biggest failure, hands down.

So not a stellar week for goals, but identifying a hurdle, which I now expect will make a periodic reappearance, and determining how to best work around it is time well spent.

Here’s your Linky.

4 responses to “Slaying the Edit Monster and Getting Lost in the Kitchen

  1. A sick little one will sidetrack anyone, attention defects or no….Ha! Sure hope your little one is feeling better soon. Sounds like a good nap is in order today for everyone at your home…

  2. Kudos on identifying the Edit Monster and starting to get some ideas on how to deal with it. That is a great step forward. I hope your little one is feeling better so you can get some sleep!

  3. Yikes! Lots happening. Sorry to hear the little one isn’t feeling well. I don’t have kids, but I know when Hubby is under the weather, nothing goes well. Oh, and when you get a hold of the Edit Monster, give him a great big kick for me 🙂

    Keep up the good work. You’re doing great.

  4. Ah, the season of sick kiddos. Sorry he isn’t feeling good and hope he gets over it quickly.

    At least it was a little productive. Maybe the sick monster and the edit monster will be vanquished together.

Leave a Reply

